Stamp Collecting

Typographic Stamps, from Jung Kim Min.

I’m not a philatelist, but I do buy stamps that feature exquisite design and typography so I’ll probably try to get a set of these if and when they come out.

This project from designer Jung Min Kim, features 18 stamps that showcase some of the most important typefaces in the history of typography. Each stamp highlights the most important feature of the face, and when the stamp is peeled off the backing sheet, it reveals additional information about the type designer, and the significance of the typeface itself. (release date, where it was designed, designers name, foundry, etc.) To promote the stamp line Jung Min Kim took two of the stamps and created promotional posters.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


20th Century Design Masters Honored by the USPs.

As part of its 2011 commemorative postage stamp program the USPS, just unveiled one set in particular that will probably make designers giddy with delight. In July, a 12 stamp book will honor some of the most influential industrial designers of the 20th century.

The 12 “Industrial Design Pioneers” are: Frederick Hurten Rhead, Walter Dorwin Teague, Norman Bel Geddes, Raymond Loewy, Donald Deskey, Gilbert Rohde, Greta von Nessen, Russel Wright, Henry Dreyfuss, Peter Müller-Munk, Dave Chapman, and Eliot Noyes.  In addition to the select group of twelve, Robert Heller’s “Airflow” fan designed in the 1933 is featured on the left-hand side of the sheet.

The series includes designs from WalterDorwin Teague’s design for the 1934 “Baby Brownie”, Henry Dreyfuss’ desk telephone, Gilbert Rohde desk clock, Frederick Hurten Rhead’s 1936 Fiesta Ware line of ceramic tableware,just to name a few. The overall selection of designers and their famous design works  have been carefully curated to include some obvious selections as well as some that most non-designers would be aware of.

The collection was put together by USPS Art Director Derry Noyes. Additional  Derry Noyes contributions to the USPS have included the Charles + Ray Eames stamps from 2008 and the Masterworks of Modern Architecture stamp from 2005.

The full USPS press release can be found here.